2018 Center of Excellence



This is only ONE Center Of Excellence in the West Japan. The faculty members are involved in both clinical and basic research in rheumatoid arthritis (RA), Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE), Vasculitis, Scleroderma, etc. We are committed to a mission of providing the highest quality, care for patients and training students, residents, fellows and young faculty. Our research programs are centered in the clinical areas and include the disciplines of clinical examination and laboratory research and collaborative efforts with other national and international organizations. The patients, payers, employers, participating physicians and institution largely benefit from our mission. Also, as a dean of graduate school we have educated many students from APLAR area to get a PhD degree of medical science in the university.


The division of Rheumatology, the department of internal medicine, Yonsei University College of Medicine started in 1994 by Professor Soo-Kon Lee (former President, chairman of the Board, Korean College of Rheumatology, chairman of 2013 EAGOR), who had studied in Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, University of Alabama at Birmingham from 1989 to 1991. Clinical trainee-course has begun from 1995. Severance Rheumatology Center has contributed to the initiation and development in the fields of clinical practice, basic researches and education for both trainee and patients.


In 1983, Professor Benjamin Bining Jiang established Division of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology in Taipei Veterans General Hospital and appointed Professor Soo-Ray Wang as the first head of the division. Along with ever-increasing patients visiting our outpatient clinic and a prosperous medical affairs, a ward with a total of 51-beds was available since 1992, which served as the largest rheumatological and immunological center in this country. Professor Chung-Tei Chou took the task of section chief in July 1998 and has his tenure of office until 2006 when Dr. Hsiao-Yi Lin replaced his seat (2006-2015). Professor Chang-Youh Tsai is the current (3rd) chief of the Division (term of office since March 2015). With the leadership of Professor Tsai, our center provides safe and excellent quality of medicare for the patients with various rheumatic disease in a tailor-made manner. There have been hundreds of research and clinical peer-reviewed papers and studies results published domestically as well as internationally. Our faculty members also participate in many global clinical trials in rheumatic and immunologic diseases.


Rheumatology center in CMUH provide high-quality, comprehensive, interdisciplinary medical services, and patient-centered care for patients with rheumatic diseases by seamless teamwork in between rheumatologists, other specialists, and paramedics. The establishment of patient education center, has provided routine and long-term route, and education materials for our rheumatology patients, which has mutual benefits for patients and medical team. The massive and great diversity of patients provides excellent training for medical staffs and fellows of rheumatology, and stationary incomes for all members. The generous funding for clinical and translational research from CMUH has become the driving force for us in the pursuit of excellence.



Western Health is a comprehensive tertiary health network encompassing 4 teaching hospitals across Melbourne’s western suburbs and is affiliated with the University of Melbourne. Western Health serves Melbourne’s area of need with one quarter of the growing population in this catchment area and a diverse range of ethnic groups. The Rheumatology unit is headquartered at Western Hospital in Footscray and provides a tertiary referral service to Sunshine, Williamstown and Sunbury Hospitals.

The unit has strong links with the Australian Institute of Musculoskeletal Science where we undertake translational research as well as close research associations with the University of Melbourne.

Our rheumatologists are honorary lecturers with the University of Melbourne, the highest ranked university in Australia. Its faculty of medicine is ranked within the top ten in the world. We have 7 rheumatologists, a fellow, advanced trainee, resident as well as having undergraduate and postgraduate students involved in our unit activities and research. A steady stream of overseas fellows, including those from APLAR regions have trained with us over the last 2 decades.

We have musculoskeletal ultrasound services and offer our trainees opportunities to learn this tool. Our unit supports the education of undergraduate medical students and is actively involved in the basic and advanced training of our future physicians. Our philosophy is that of respect for each individual, we strive for excellence, value education and we cater to specific needs in our approach. Our unit is the first to receive the APLAR CoE in Australia.